White Robe

I stand out on my step

By the dawn’s early light

Pull my papers from the tube

Drain a hot vessel

I look down at my arm

Sleeved to the wrist

Soft, billowy white like clouds

I wear a white robe

They make me wear a white robe.

 

I stand beside my berth

See the stars in the bars

Reach my shaking hand touch a rock wall

How long have I been here?

Why do they treat me so?

I used to be in charge

They say my cause is lost

Feed me another pill

They make me wear a white robe

 

Walking in a dream

With chains on wrists and feet

Walking circles in the dark

Watching the light show

Smell the freshly dug dirt

Led by a cord I can’t see

I wear a white robe

They make me wear a white robe

 

I think I can survive

A nap beneath the earth

Please don’t shake my bones

While I am away

Do not push them aside

When it’s your turn to repose

You may see things in another way

Wake up in a body you don’t know

They make you wear a white robe…

Leave a Reply

